• Home
    Step by step guides
    Heraldic terms and their meanings

    1. Lion: Arguably the most common heraldic symbol, the lion represents courage and nobility.
    2. Eagle: A common symbol in the heraldry of many countries, usually symbolizing power and strength.
    3. Griffin: A mythical creature with the body of a lion and the head and wings of an eagle; represents valour and vigilance.
    4. Unicorn: Usually symbolizes purity and strength.
    5. Dragon: A symbol of power, wisdom, and protection.
    6. Stag: Also known as a Hart, commonly used to symbolize peace and harmony.
    7. Horse: Represents readiness for all employments for king and country.
    8. Falcon/Hawk: Represents someone who is hot or eager in pursuit of an object much desired.
    9. Serpent: Represents wisdom and defiance.
    10. Boar: Represents bravery and fights to the death.
    11. Wolf: Represents valiant captains that eventually become great commanders, renowned for their loyalty and hard work.
    12. Bear: Represents strength, cunning, and ferocity in the protection of one’s kindred.
    13. Fox: Represents one who will use all that he/she may possess of wisdom and wit in his/her own defense.
    14. Dolphin: Symbolizes swiftness, diligence, salvation, charity, and love.
    15. Swan: Symbolizes light, love, grace, sincerity, and perfection.
    16. Martlet: Symbolizes one who subsists on wings of virtue and merit, having not land.
    17. Raven: Represents one who, not of the fairest character, yet has still acquired, by industry and economy, great riches.
    18. Tiger: Represents fierceness and valour, and an unwillingness to engage in combat unless provoked.